Signal First Impressions- “This Is Not The End” [Jae Han]

I have to admit, I didn’t expect to like this drama. Even when I first saw it appear on my watch list, I was a little wary of whether or not I would like it. I’m not sure if it’s because the people who told me about it didn’t explain it well? However it’s always the dramas that I don’t think is to my taste I fall in love with. Yes, I regret starting this late. However, never underestimate a Kdrama fan. #DramaMarathonOnLock So yeah, by the time I’ve posted this I will probably be caught up.

I can’t believe what a weekend it has been for me with Kdramas. It’s like I’ve finally been refreshed and revived of my thirst for them. I am glad I gave a chance for oth ‘Misaeng’ and ‘Signal’. Anyway moving onto ‘Signal’.

I haven’t seen any dramas with any of this cast so they’re all fresh to me. I am definitely enjoying their acting so far but I’m here to talk more on their characters and the story. I don’t know if there are any romantic elements but I wouldn’t be put off because that’s not the point of this drama.

The main premise is two detectives, one in the present and the other in the past communicating with each other via a walkie-talkie. Both of them end up solving cases by exchanging information from both dimensions. I’ve got to admit it that it took me a little while to get into the drama. That’s probably mainly due to the legistics of the concept and me having to wrap my head about the time concept.

Nevertheless I was hooked as soon as they began the first case. In that first episode where they try to get a confession out of the murderer against the clock had me jumping around like a bouncy ball. I’m hoping this series won’t get me all emotional but a big part of me knows that it don’t give a flying f*ck. Probably destroy a character or two and have me just sitting there looking like a sad duck.

My biggest question is how the hell is this talking between the past and future possible? That’s the most intriguing part so far and I’m wondering what explanation they will come up with. Only 2 episodes deep at the moment but I can’t wait for more and more to unravel. The suspense for when the next transmission will come through has got me giddy and constantly searching for when they will show the clocks.

Also loving Soo Hyun’s (Kim Hye Soo) badass cop character. Kim Hye Soo’s acting seems to definitely fit that role better than her timid, less confident self in the flashback. I’m not quite sure how to class Hae Young’s (Lee Je Hoon) character yet. He clearly knows how to read people and connect scenarios well. Yet he’s also a little bit of a hyper kid trying to cheekily tick of his elders. I feel like his character switches are a little untidy for now but he hasn’t disappointed me yet so I’m waiting for more. I can’t wait for more and watching this drama was definitely a “signal” from the universe that my tastes are changing. Did you get it? Nevermind…

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

