[ Shamz Reviews ] – She Was Pretty

I know I’m a good couple of months late with this one BUT I finally have it done! I swear in real life I’m a pretty punctual person ๐Ÿ™ˆ. Anyway let’s go ^-^ xTOS #ISpeakInHashtags

[ Basic Story Line ]

Pretty simple storyline here. Sung Joon (Park Seo Joon) and Hye Jin (Hwang Jung Eum) were childhood sweethearts. He used to be chubby, nerdy whilst Hye Jin was a pretty and popular girl. 15 years later she refuses to face him as their looks have reversed in the opposite direction. The story basically follows to show how both of them end up finding each other despite the present obstacles in their way.

She_Was_Pretty-018
Credits to AsianWiki

[ Likes ]

– #IShipHyeRi –

No I haven’t watched Kill Me, Heal me so I don’t know about Seo Joon and Hwang Jung Eum’s chemistry from there. Personally I preferred the chemistry here. The friendship between both Hye Jin and Ha Ri (Koh Joon Hee) was spectacular. They seriously showed what true friendship should be like. Despite Ha Ri falling in love with Sung Joon, Hye Jin doesnโ€™t immediately run to her and throw a bitch fight. Her trust in Ha Ri is too strong for such bullsh*t behavior. This was probably by far the best part of the drama for me. This was my high points for the lead actresses as their portrayal was #OnPoint.

– #LikingTheUnexpected –

At first when we were introduced to Siwonโ€™s character I found him jarring. I felt like it was a little overplayed. HOWEVER I later became used to his overwhelming happiness that when it left him for a bit I was missing it. Is it bad to say I preferred him to Sung Joon? #SorryNotSorry (I’m talking characters here because Park Seo Joon himself is pretty good) Furthermore I loved that Siwon and Hwang Jung Eum managed to portray their weird yet quirky traits well. Although I have to admit, Hye Jinโ€™s weirdness was cute at first but after awhile it did slightly get jarring for me.

– #SideCouple –

Han Seol (Shin Hye Sun) and Joon Woo (Park Yoo Hwan)! SeolWoo!!! These two were awesome side characters. I just love how unexpectedly they became a couple. Despite her gold digger nature Han Sol couldnโ€™t but help fall for Joon Wooโ€™s sweet gestures and it was just a big ball of fluffy candyfloss that this drama needed. Epically given that I wasn’t really warming to the main couple.

[ Dislikes ]

– #AreYouReallyACouple –

Not sure how to phrase this but I felt like Hye Jin and Sung Joon were just an old Polaroid from the past. Their relationship just seemed so deep-rooted in them being exactly like they were 15 years ago. That itself was a little unrealistic. In comparison Shin Hyuk and Hye jin just seemed to reflect present reality to me. I mean the chemistry between Park Seo Joon and Hwang Jung Eum wasnโ€™t bad or anything- it was cute. But the chemistry between Hye Jinโ€™s and Shin Hyukโ€™s character was just more appealing. I donโ€™t know if Iโ€™m making any sense but I know not everyone is gonna agree with me here so letโ€™s move on.

– #LongMess –

Our side protagonists, Ha Ri and Shin Hyuk, werenโ€™t really developed that much. For example Ha Ri’s family issue was wrapped up very quickly and randomly. Whilst all this build up with regards to Shin Hyuk was cut into just a side story that didn’t actually even have THAT MUCH of a significance. That aside this drama dragged on for way to ‘lonnggg’. I donโ€™t even think there was any point in having 16 episodes. It just got boring and I just was watching it for the sake of finishing it. I remember there was one point where I was painting my nails and watching- which is difficult when trying to read subtitles. #InternationalFansKnowTheStruggle

Screen Shot 2016-01-20 at 11.32.21.png

[ Would I recommend It?]

If you got time then maybe.

[ Moist Rating ]

swprating

Gotta be a 6.5/10. It wasnโ€™t absolutely terrible for me. The drama actually started off really good actually. I remember being so hyped for the episodes to come. I think it was around episode 10 or something I lost interest though. I mean it just got boring and the characters just became stagnant. The story basically sets you up for jack sh*t.

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

