NO. MERCY 1st Debut Mission Pt 1 – “Do You Know That You’re Good Looking?” [Hyungwon] #BitchPlz

Wheeey I’m backkk … not sure if anyone realised I was gone to begin with but whatever, this is my happy space. Anyway I’ve decided to do something different and review a survival show! Is that what they’re called? November is already killing me with comebacks; I’m being shot left, right, centre so I thought why not try something different? If you read my #TurnDown4Wah section you will notice that my fave rookie group of the year is Monsta X. Yeah there’s iKON and Seventeen but I dunno I warmed towards this group more. Don’t get me wrong I love iKON (ygbiased af). Seventeen seem cool. Their songs are just not my type but I don’t hate them; they seem like cute little brothers. I got Noona problems. Back to Monsta X, I know that they were ‘produced’ from Starship’s “No Mercy” survival show and I’ve actually wanted to watch one of these because insta//fb/tumblr be always hyped when SMTM or UR airs. Forewarning before I get some stupid haters- yeah I ain’t no music expert; sounds like I’m judging and that is exactly what I’m doing (I mean what else would I be doing… enjoying the view?); just my opinions however so don’t take it too seriously. Moving on…

[ MISSION SUM UP ] So they all got given ranks to begin with, and they were only referred to as those numbers. Tough times bruh… The 1st Day Debut Mission basically gives them a chance to change in the ranks by showing solo performances of their talents. Korean survival shows sound harsh.

Ok so some of this HAD to have been staged. The similarities with X Factor was a little jarring… because the immense focus on stories was why I stopped X Factor, but it does get the views I guess. The way they tried to make you feel bad and show their determination was a little funny. Shownu being 1st previously went on first. His meeting with GOT7, although touching, the part where they showed him being left in the back when the fans come crowding them was just hilarious to me. He looked like lost Pooh Bear. It was so bait I couldn’t help but laugh.

But my Buddha I didn’t know that Shownu could sing THAT well? I mean I knew he could sing, but I’ve never really heard him properly before. When he came out with ‘All Of Me’ I felt proud because I know Monsta X does get a lot of shit for being a ‘talentless’ product, bar Jooheon. But they obviously have not heard Shownu. He’s not powerful like Kihyun or anything, but he has a stable, sweet voice. I slightly agree with Wheesung when he said that the real test would be how his voice may crack if he dances and sings at the same time.

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 11.20.10Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 11.20.32Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 11.20.44Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 11.20.48Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 11.22.45Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 11.22.24Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 11.22.35Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 11.22.40

Speaking of Jooheon, the little shit. Such a competitive breddah, but equally charming at the same time. I don’t know if anyone else felt this but I could tell him and Kihyun were favourites of the artists. I mean the Mad Clown collab connection seemed to be a great one up for him. Not gonna lie, Mad Clown was on that bumchum vibe. Of course his rap was good, I mean I didn’t really understand the lyrics that well but his performance was on point. It was all professional right from the start- #FlawlessJooheon. That guy did not hold back and went all out, reminding us countless times that number 1 was gonna be his. Surprisingly he got it too. Woah it’s so weird to see Jooheon in that atmosphere after seeing him as part of Monsta X first. Despite his competitiveness I didn’t hate him.

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 11.29.11Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 11.29.25Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 11.29.29

Second to Jooheon of course was Kihyun whom also got the various praises from the professionals. I’m not gonna deny he has strong vocals and his performance was very intense. I know he was going for a desperate love song but he also sort of sounded like he was crying singing throughout the second part of his performance. You know what I mean? He started off really good and then it was belch, belch, belch. You can see how out of all the vocalists he was the most determined to become the best one though, and to me, he did deserve the debut at the end of it. Although part of me feels like he could of also gone solo and since his voice suits those Kdrama ballads.

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 12.00.27Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 12.00.30Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 12.00.17

Is it funny how those who actually debuted were all aired in one row? The visual line, Hyungwon, Wonho and Minhyuk, I could see that they needed improving. Hyungwon shocked me with his smooth voice, and seemed to have stumped Hyorin’s heart by his hotness. Hyorin I ain’t even gonna deny it either. In comparison to the other two his performance was the best one. But all three needed to improve so much more. Especially Wonho and Minhyuk. I mean I love them of course, but I can see why they didn’t make it to the top. Unfortunately Wonho’s sexy concept fell flat on it’s face. That flower drop by Minhyuk for Hyorin tho… bruh what moves you tryna make here?

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 01.51.39Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 01.53.25Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 01.51.13Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 01.53.29

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 01.59.26Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 01.59.27Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 02.00.35Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 01.59.31

Not gonna lie, it was sort of weird how Wonho’s words held so much truth when it came to Kpop and the idol life.

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 11.42.04Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 11.42.08

PART 2 To Be Continued….

Random Sidetone: Wheesung throughout this Mission was my spirit animal. His reactions literally mirrored mine and he had the same thoughts that I had on the performances.

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 11.44.04Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 11.44.17

Leave a Reply

